Just another WordPress.com site


The red dot design award is a large and coveted[1] international product design prize awarded by the Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen in Essen, Germany. The aim of the prize is to honor outstanding design quality and trendsetters. Since 1955, designers and producers can apply for the prizes with the winners being presented in an annual ceremony. Winning products are presented in the red dot design museum on the premises of the Zollverein World Cultural Heritage site in Essen.


With more than 11,000 submissions from 61 countries, the international “red dot design award” is the largest and most renowned design competition in the world. The red dot is awarded in three different categories:

Product design / design team

The oldest of the three awards, the red dot award: product design had been known as Design Innovationen until 2000. The competition is open to several fields of manufacturing, including, but not limited to furniture, home appliances, machines, cars and tools.

red dot: design team of the year This special distinction, for which you cannot apply, has been awarded annually since 1991 to design teams which have had an impact on worldwide markets due to their consistently innovative design achievements. The prize-winners include companies such as Siemens in 1995, Apple Computers in 2001, BMW Group in 2007 and the Bose Design Center in 2008, Opel in 2008 and 2010.

Communication design

Since 1993, the red dot award: communication design is awarded for outstanding achievements in the fields of corporate design, advertising, interactive media or sound design.

Since 2008, the title of honor ‘red dot: design agency of the year’ is awarded to a design agency which has had an impact on the whole branch due to their consistently innovative design achievements. The first ‘red dot: design agency of the year’, Strichpunkt, received this special award, the ‘stylus’, on stage at the award ceremony of the ‘red dot award: communication design.

Design concept

Since 2005, red dot established the red dot design museum Singapore and also an award for design innovations and design concepts. The “red dot award: design concept” centres on design concepts, on ideas and visions that are new, creative and exciting. The competition distinguishes truly creative achievements and thus pays tribute to the high potential of young, up-and-coming creative talents,designers and design companies around the world.

Number of applicants

The number of applicants has been rising steadily. In total, the 2008 competition received more than 11,000 entries from 61 nations. In 2008, there were over 3.200 submissions from 51 countries for the product design prize (with 676 winning), over 5,800 submissions for the communication design prize (with 343 winning) and 1,900 entries from 46 countries (with 223 winning).




Compasso d’Oro is the name of an Industrial Design award originated in Italy in 1954 by the La Rinascente company from an original idea of Gio Ponti and Alberto Rosselli. From 1964 it has been hosted exclusively by Associazione per il Disegno Industriale (ADI). It is the first and most recognized award in its field. The prize aims to acknowledge and promote quality in the field of industrial designs Made in Italy and is awarded by ADI.

The Castiglioni brothers contributed to establish the ADI and the Compasso d’Oro awards. Enzo Mari was president of the ADI from 1976 to 1979. It was the first award of its kind in Europe and soon took on an international dimension and relevance, multiplying the occasions on which the exhibitions of award-winning objects were held in Europe, the United States, Canada and Japan.




iF product design award



The iF Product Design Award was introduced in 1954 and is annually conferred by the iF International Forum Design. Every year the iF attracts more than 2,000 product entries from around 37 nations, which are judged by renowned experts, with the best of them receiving an iF seal of outstanding design quality. The best of the best are awarded with an iF gold award, known as the “Design Oscar“.

The iF Industrie Forum Design e.V.[1] has been around for more than 50 years. They launched in 1953 with a “Special Show for Well-Designed Industrial Goods” as part of the Hanover Fair industrial trade exhibition, originally to highlight German Design. They now strive to serve as a mediating arm between design and industry internationally. They believe that this capacity allows them to make contributions to design services and to increase public awareness on the importance of design. They combined all relevant areas in design, some with previous award programs they had started, in 2000-2002 to become the iF Design Award. Today the contest attracts entries from more than 35 countries, in 12 categories. To this day, iF International Forum Design publishes annual yearbooks showcasing the winners of their design awards.

The iF Industrial Forum Design is joined by other design professional organizations around the world to increase public awareness about design. Designers who are members of Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA), Verband Deutscher Industrie Designer e.V.[2] (VDID), and International Council of Societies of Industrial Design (ICSID) are just a few of the international community that enter the iF Product Design competition.

  • Consumer Electronics/Telecommunications

  • Computers

  • Office/Business

  • Lighting

  • Household/Residential

  • Leisure/Lifestyle

  • Industry/Buildings

  • Medicine/Health+Care

  • Public Design/Interior Design

  • Transportation

  • Advanced studies

  • Packaging

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s